AIR Awards

AIR Award Recipients - 2018        

Outstanding Service Award 


 Julie Carpenter-Hubin

John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award​


Mary Ann C​oughlin



Karen Webber

Visit the 2018 AIR Award Recipients page for more information about the awardees.

AIR Awards Process

Each year, AIR recognizes and celebrates individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the success of the Association and the profession through their leadership, service, and scholarship. The three available awards are outlined below. Nominations for 2019 are now closed. Nominations for 2020 are due by December 30, 2019. Email nomination packets to

Service Award

Recognizes a member for professional leadership and exemplary service to AIR, and may be bestowed posthumously. 

John Stecklein Distinguished Member Award

Recognizes a member whose professional career has significantly advanced the field of institutional research through extraordinary scholarship, leadership, and service.  

Sidney ​Suslow
Scholar Award

Recognizes an individual who, through scholarly work, has made significant contributions to the field of institutional research and advanced understanding of the profession in a meaningful way.

A​IR Awards Criteria

Publication Awards

Charles F. Elton Best Paper Award celebrates the scholarly papers presented at the AIR annual conference (Forum) that are subsequently accepted for publishing in a peer reviewed journal. These papers best exemplify the standards of excellence established by the award's namesake and make significant contributions to the field of IR. The purpose of the award is to promote scholarship and to acknowledge that AIR members make a wide variety of scholarly contributions to the field, ranging from theory to practice.

New Awards Procedure

Have an idea for a new award? Review the procedures PDF. P​roposals must be received by July 1 of a given year to be considered for implementation at the following Forum.​